top of page
Image by Jess Bailey
Search

Why Freelancing? How to Start?

Have you ever asked yourself why freelancing? How did you start your journey? As a freelancer how freelancing changes your life?


  I always wanted to do freelancing since I took the responsibility on my own. I found my salary is just for my daily living, paying monthly utilities and other expenses, and being not able to save for emergency expenses. Our life is not meant just to pay bills. We all have dreams to fulfill like to help our family, to travel, and to live life to the fullest.


There are numerous reasons why I am passionate about pursuing freelancing, and I believe many others entering this industry share similar sentiments. Drawing from my personal experience, here are some compelling factors:


  1. Elimination of Travel Expenses: Freelancing negates the need for daily commutes to an office. Your home becomes your workplace.

  2. Minimal Expenditure on Attire: The necessity of buying work clothes and makeup is eliminated. You can work comfortably in your pajamas without concerns about your appearance.

  3. Higher Earnings per Hour: Freelancers often earn more than they would in a traditional 8-hour shift. Compensation is based on hours worked rather than a fixed daily rate.

  4. Flexible Work Environment: The ability to work while traveling is a major advantage. As long as there is a reliable internet connection, you can work from anywhere.

  5. Autonomy Over Schedule: Freelancers enjoy the freedom to choose their working hours. Effective time management allows for a balanced life, eliminating the need to miss family gatherings or decline social invitations due to early work commitments.


All of these are just a few factors. What I appreciate about this is the ability to spend time with family, the freedom to travel anywhere I desire as I enjoy learning new things through exploration, and, of course, the opportunity to save money for future purposes.


Embarking on a freelancing journey requires a considerable amount of courage and determination. It is not a walk in the park, nor is it a Cinderella story where you wake up the next morning with all the desired luxuries. Success is not achieved overnight.


I initiated my freelancing journey in September 2020. While some individuals choose to venture into freelancing independently, I opted to learn from experts. I enrolled in a freelancing course at the Filipino Virtual Assistant Academy. With the guidance of our coach, I achieved a milestone that became a life-changing experience. During coaching sessions, I also took the time to read articles that could further assist me on this journey.


Remember, results take time to materialize, and success is a gradual process. Work diligently, maintain consistency, and exercise patience.

bottom of page